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About the Minnesota Office of Higher Education 

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education is a 
cabinet-level state agency providing students with 
financial aid programs and information to help 
them gain access to postsecondary education. The 
agency also serves as the state’s clearinghouse for 
data, research and analysis on postsecondary 
enrollment, financial aid, finance and trends. 

The Minnesota State Grant Program is the largest 
financial aid program administered by the Office of 
Higher Education, awarding more than $224 million 
in need-based grants to Minnesota resident 
students attending eligible colleges, universities and 
career schools in Minnesota. The agency oversees 
other state scholarship and grant programs, tuition 
reciprocity programs, a student loan program, 
Minnesota’s 529 College Savings Plan, licensing and 
early college awareness programs for youth 
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Common Definitions 1 

Introduction 

This chapter of the manual is intended to provide information about terms and requirements that apply to 
several state financial aid programs. If a term or requirement applies only to one state financial aid program, it 
will be defined in that program’s chapter. This manual is updated on a regular basis. Institutions are required to 
read all e-mail and written correspondence from the Minnesota Office of Higher Education (Office) to keep 
informed of any changes in policy or guidance. Changes announced during the interim have the full force and 
effect of the State Financial Aid Manual. 

Definitions 

Academic Year 

A period of time in which a full-time student is expected to complete the equivalent of at least two semesters, 
two trimesters or three quarters; or at least 30 semester hours or 45 quarter hours; or at least 900 clock hours. 
For a program offered in credit hours, the academic year must be at least 30 weeks in duration.  For a program 
offered in clock hours, the academic year must be at least 26 weeks in duration. 

Agency 

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education (OHE). 

Audits/Records Retention 

State auditors will periodically visit each participating institution to perform an audit on state financial aid 
programs. The Minnesota statute 136A.13131 allows a school to employ an outside auditing agency or firm to 
conduct audits of state financial aid in conjunction with their audits for federal financial aid. The school may opt 
to continue to have auditors from the Minnesota Office of Higher Education (the Agency) perform audits free of 
charge. 

Audits must be conducted in compliance with guidelines and materials prepared by the Office. If an outside 
auditing firm is used, the state auditors will review and determine the appropriate response to audit exceptions 
and findings.  

The school must make available to auditors all pertinent books, documents, papers and records for audit and 
examination for three years after the last day of the fiscal year or until all audit exceptions for the audit period 
are resolved. See chapter on ‘SELF Loan’ for additional records retention requirements for that program.  

 

1 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.1313 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.1313


Common Definitions 2 

Award Year 

The period of time between July 1 to June 30.  It can also be referred to as the state fiscal year. 

Certificate Program 

A program that is offered by an eligible school and is: 

• at least 12 quarter/8 semester credits or 300 clock hours; and  

• at least eight weeks long   

Certification 

The process, prior to disbursement, where schools confirm a recipient’s eligibility to receive an award by 
verifying enrollment, financial data such as cost of attendance, and other program requirements. Schools must 
make the necessary updates to the required data to ensure the accuracy of the recipient’s eligibility and award 
amount. 

For program funds to be disbursed to the school, the school must first certify awarded students in MNAid, or 
through the instructed method provided by the Office. Further guidance on certification and disbursement of 
funds will be provided in each program’s chapter. 

Clock Hour 

The state adopts the federal definition for ‘Clock Hour’. For more information, refer to Volume 3 of the Federal 
Student Aid Handbook2.  

Commissioner 

The commissioner of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.  

Cost of Attendance (COA) 

The state adopts the federal definition for ‘Cost of Attendance’. For more information, refer to Volume 3 of the 
Federal Student Aid Handbook. How the COA impacts state aid may differ per state aid program and will be 
defined within the program’s chapter. 

 

2 https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-center/fsa-handbook 

https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-center/fsa-handbook
https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-center/fsa-handbook
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Credit Hour 

The state adopts the federal definition for ‘Credit Hour’. For more information, refer to Volume 3 of the Federal 
Student Aid Handbook.  

Dependent Student 

A student who does not meet the criteria for an independent student as defined in the Higher Education Act of 
1965, as amended. The state adopts the federal definition for ‘Dependent Student”.  For more information, refer 
to the ‘Application and Verification Guide’ section of the Federal Student Aid Handbook.  

Eligible Institution 

1. A postsecondary institution is eligible to  participate in state student aid programs  if it meets the eligibility 
requirements under section 136A.103 and sections 197.791 and 299A.45 if the institution is located in this 
state and:      

a. is operated by this state or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota; or      

b. is operated privately and meets the requirements of paragraph 2.  

2. A private institution must be licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the office and meet 
one of the following criteria:      

a. the institution participates in the federal Pell Grant program under Title IV of the Higher Education 
Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended; or      

b. the institution was participating in state student aid programs as of June 30, 2010, but does not 
participate in the federal Pell Grant program under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, 
Public Law 89-329, as amended; 

i. and requires every student who enrolls to sign a Student Disclosure Statement, provided by 
the office, stating that the institution is not participating in the federal Pell Grant program 
(template provided in the ‘State Grant’ chapter of this manual); and     

ii. has not had a change in ownership as defined in section 136A.63, subdivision 2; or offers 
only graduate-level degrees or graduate-level non-degree programs and participates in 
federal financial aid under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as 
amended. 

c. An institution under paragraph 2, clause b that changes ownership as defined in section 136A.63, 
subdivision 2, remains eligible for state student aid for six months following the change in 
ownership. 

https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-center/fsa-handbook
https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-center/fsa-handbook
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.103
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Financial Data 

Refers to the data elements for an applicant to determine their eligibility for an award. Financial data may 
consist of, but is not limited to, COA, Student Aid Index (SAI), other financial aid, and enrollment level. State aid 
programs that require financial data will provide details of the required data within the program’s chapter. 

Schools must submit financial data for applicants in the MNAid system, or through the instructed method 
provided by the Office. 

Financial Need 

The demonstrated need of the applicant for financial assistance to meet the recognized costs of attending the 
eligible institution of choice as determined from financial information on the applicant and, if required, on the 
applicant’s parents under the federal need analysis formula.  

For state aid programs, refer to each program’s chapter for further guidance on determining financial need. 

Fiscal Year 

A state fiscal year begins on July 1 and ends on June 30. 

Full Time 

An undergraduate student who is enrolled in a minimum of 12 credits per term, or the equivalent. For a 
graduate student, enrolled in a minimum of 6 credits per term, or the equivalent. 

Independent Student 

The state adopts the federal definition for ‘Independent Student’. For more information, refer to the 
‘Application and Verification Guide’ section of the Federal Student Aid Handbook. 

Institution (or School) 

A post-secondary institution that participates in a student financial aid program or student loan program 
administered by the Office. 

Institutional Participation Agreement 

The document signed by the appropriate school official(s) and the designated representatives for the Minnesota 
Office of Higher Education which specifies the rights and the responsibilities of the school and the Agency as 
they relate to participation in the specific financial aid program(s) covered by that agreement.  

https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-center/fsa-handbook


Common Definitions 5 

Leave of Absence (LOA) 

The state adopts the federal definition for ‘Leave of Absence’. Refer to Volume 5 of the Federal Student Aid 
Handbook for more information. State financial aid cannot be disbursed during an approved leave of absence 
unless it is for a term the student has already completed. Further, the institution may not assess the student any 
additional institutional charges, the student’s financial need may not increase, and the student is not eligible for 
any additional state financial aid due to a leave of absence.  

Minnesota Aid (MNAid) 

 Minnesota's customized version of the GrantPro technology, developed and supported by Nelnet. MNAid is a 
full-service, web-based financial aid management system that allows the Office of Higher Education and 
postsecondary institutions to award, disburse and administer state financial aid programs.   

It includes a secure agency and school financial aid staff portal that supports state financial aid program 
administration. Separately, MNAid provides a student portal, which allows students to apply for state aid 
programs that require applications separate from the FAFSA. Additionally, students can view the status of their 
applications, upload supporting documentation and review aggregate usage of state financial aid programs.  

Office 

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education.  

Order of Aid Calculations 

Over the past several legislative sessions, the legislature has created multiple state “last dollar” financial aid 
programs. Last dollar financial aid programs are programs that account for or take into consideration other 
financial aid when calculating the amount of aid a student is eligible for from the program. 

To address the challenge of the existence of multiple state financial aid programs with a last dollar component, 
the Minnesota Revisor’s Office suggested Order of Aid Calculation language. The suggested language was 
included in the Higher Education Omnibus Bill and was passed in the 2024 legislative session under 136A.0973.  

What does the Order of Aid Calculation language mean? 
The language that passed instructs state financial aid programs to be calculated in the order of their original 
enactment from oldest to most recent. 

 

3 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.097 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.097
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Order of Enactment for State Financial Aid Programs: 

Program Year 
Enacted 

Is this program Last Dollar? (Does it Account 
for Other State Aid? 

Minnesota Indian Scholarship Program 1959 Yes (remaining need from Cost of 
Attendance) 

Minnesota State Grant 1971 No 

Public Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant 1973 No 

Postsecondary Child Care Grant 1989 No 

Student Teacher Grants in Shortage Areas  2016 Yes (remaining need from Cost of 
Attendance) 

Grants for Students w/ Intellectual & 
Developmental Disabilities 

2017 No 

Underrepresented Student Teacher Grants 2021 (a) Yes (remaining need from Cost of 
Attendance) 

Fostering Independence Higher Education Grants 2021 (b) Yes (remaining need from Cost of 
Attendance) 

Get Ready Student Success Scholarship 2023 No 

North Star Promise Scholarship 2023 Yes (last dollar from tuition and fees) 

The language further instructs that when a student is: 

• eligible for multiple state financial aid programs; and 

• two or more of those programs calculate the award amount after considering other state aid, 

• then the Commissioner of the Office of Higher Education can determine the order of calculating the 
state aid.   

Unless the Office of Higher Education issues guidance that directs a particular order, the default will be the 
order of enactment from oldest to most recent. 

State Financial Aid Programs that Account for Other State Aid  
(Last Dollar/Remaining Need) 

Program Year Enacted 

Minnesota Indian Scholarship Program 1959 

Student Teacher Grants in Shortage Areas  2016 

Underrepresented Student Teacher Grants 2021 (a) 

Fostering Independence Higher Education Grants 2021 (b) 

North Star Promise Scholarship 2023 
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Example 1: Student is eligible for Minnesota State Grant (SG) and Minnesota Indian Scholarship 
Program (MISP) 

In this example, the student is eligible for aid under only one last dollar program, so there is nothing to be 
resolved. Minnesota State Grant is not a last dollar aid program, so both programs are awarded as they have 
been in previous award cycles. 

Example 2: Student is eligible for Minnesota State Grant (SG), Minnesota Indian Scholarship Program 
(MISP) and Fostering Independence Higher Education Grant (FIG) 

In this example, the student is eligible for two last dollar programs, MISP and FIG. The order of enactment from 
oldest to most recent must be applied when determining state financial aid eligibility. The MISP award will be 
calculated and awarded first, since MISP was enacted before FIG. The MISP award will be calculated accounting 
for the SG award, but without considering the amount of the FIG award. Then, the FIG award will be calculated.  
The FIG award calculation will account for both the SG and MISP awards.    

Example 3: Student is eligible for Minnesota State Grant (SG), Fostering Independence Higher 
Education Grant (FIG), and North Star Promise (NSP) 

In this example, the student is eligible for two last dollar programs, FIG and NSP. The order of enactment from 
oldest to most recent must be applied when determining state financial aid eligibility. The FIG award will be 
calculated and awarded first, since FIG was enacted before NSP. The FIG award will be calculated accounting for 
the S G award, but without considering the amount of the NSP award. When it comes to calculating the NSP 
award, the student will not be eligible because the FIG program will award up to the Cost of Attendance, so 
there will not be any remaining tuition and fees to be covered by NSP. While not eligible for NSP, FIG recipients 
can receive the Education Training Voucher and/or Extended Foster Care benefits.  

Example 4: Student is awarded NSP. Student later applies for MISP 

In this example, the student is eligible for two last dollar programs, NSP and MISP. The order of enactment from 
oldest to most recent must be applied when determining state financial aid eligibility. Although the NSP award 
was originally calculated first by the school, the MISP award now must be calculated and awarded prior to NSP.  
This is due to the order of enactment language; MISP was enacted before NSP. The MISP award must be 
calculated without accounting for NSP. Then, once the MISP award is determined, the school would recalculate 
the NSP award, accounting for the MISP award.  

Example 5: Student is eligible for the Fostering Independence Grant (FIG) and the North Star Promise 
(NSP) 

In this example, the student has a SAI close to the student’s Cost of Attendance or is higher than the student’s 
Cost of Attendance and has an Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) under $80,000. FIG is a need-based program that 
includes SAI in the calculation of awards. If the FIG award is not enough to cover tuition and fees, NSP will pay 
any remaining balance.  
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Things to Consider 

• When awarding Postsecondary Child Care Grant, the Cost of Attendance may be increased to account 
for the childcare expenses. 

• When awarding Grants for Students with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, the Cost of 
Attendance may be increased to account for expenses related to the student’s disability.  

Professional Judgment (PJ) 

The state adopts the federal definition for ‘Professional Judgement’. Refer to the section on ‘Special Cases’ in 
the Federal Student Aid Handbook for further information. 

There is nothing in state law that limits a financial aid administrator’s  ability to adjust data elements of a 
student’s financial aid application or cost of attendance based on a special or unusual circumstance, with the 
exception of the cost of attendance for the State Grant program which is defined under section 136A.121, 
subdivision 64. 

Refund 

Adjustments after payment of state aid may result in an obligation of funds to be returned to the State.  Many 
programs utilize the OHE Refund Calculation Spreadsheet5 to calculate the obligation back to the State. Refer to 
each program’s chapter for further guidance on determining when a refund is required and how to calculate the 
refund.   Within 30 days of any adjustments resulting in a refund, the OHE Refund Return Form6 must be used to 
return funds to OHE.   

Resident Student 

Minnesota law 136A.101 Subdivision 87 defines who is a resident student and therefore eligible for most state 
financial aid programs. A resident student means a student who meets one of the following conditions:  

• a dependent or independent student who has resided in Minnesota for 12 consecutive months without 
being enrolled in a postsecondary institution for more than five credits in any term; or 

• a dependent student whose parent or legal guardian resides in Minnesota at the time the student 
completes the FAFSA or alternative state aid application; or  

 

4 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.121#stat.136A.121.6 
5 https://ohe.mn.gov/outreach-professional-resources/campus-resources/campus-financial-aid-administrator-resources-8 
6 https://ohe.mn.gov/refund-form 
7 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.101 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.121#stat.136A.121.6
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.121#stat.136A.121.6
https://ohe.mn.gov/outreach-professional-resources/campus-resources/campus-financial-aid-administrator-resources-8
https://ohe.mn.gov/refund-form
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.101
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• an independent or dependent student who graduated from a Minnesota high school if the student was a 
resident of Minnesota during the student’s period of attendance at the Minnesota high school and, if 
the student is residing in another state, the student is physically attending a Minnesota postsecondary 
educational institution; or  

• an independent or dependent student who, after residing in the state for a minimum of one year, earns 
a high school equivalency certificate (GED) issued in Minnesota (does not include a GED certificate 
issued in Minnesota for an authorized alternative test taken in another state); or  

• an independent student who was granted residency as a dependent student and has not since left the 
state of Minnesota; or  

• an independent or dependent student who is a member (or spouse/dependent of a member) of the 
armed forces of the United States stationed in Minnesota on active federal military service as defined in 
section 190.05, subdivision 5c; or  

• a spouse or dependent of a veteran, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 197.447, if the veteran meets the 
definition of a resident student ; or  

• an independent or dependent student (or spouse of) who relocated to Minnesota from an area that is 
declared a presidential disaster area within 12 months of the disaster declaration if the disaster 
interrupted the person's postsecondary education; or  

• an independent or dependent student defined as a refugee under United States Code, title 8, section 
1101(a)(42)8 who, upon arrival in the United States, moved directly to Minnesota and has continued to 
reside in Minnesota; or  

• a student eligible for resident tuition under section 135A.0439, commonly known as the Minnesota 
Dream Act: A student, other than a nonimmigrant alien within the meaning of United States Code, title 
8, section 1101, subsection (a), paragraph (15), if the student meets all of the following requirements: 

o attended a Minnesota high school for at least three years; 
o graduated from a Minnesota high school or earned a GED in Minnesota; 
o if identified as male at the time of birth, complies with Selective Service registration requirements; 

and   
o applies for lawful immigration status if a federal process exists for doing so (does not refer to 

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals- DACA); or 

• an active member, or a spouse or dependent of that member, of the state's National Guard who resides 
in Minnesota or an active member, or a spouse or dependent of that member, of the reserve 
component of the United States armed forces whose duty station is located in Minnesota and who 
resides in Minnesota.  

 

8 https://uscode.house.gov 
9 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/135A.043 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/190.05
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/197.447
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title8-section1101&num=0&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid%3AUSC-prelim-title8-section1101&num=0&edition=prelim
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/135A.043
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=(title:8%20section:1101%20edition:prelim)
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=(title:8%20section:1101%20edition:prelim)
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Resident Student Status for State Grant, North Star Promise, Indian Scholarship, State Work Study,  
Fostering Independence Grant, Reciprocity, ID Grant, Get Ready Student Success Scholarship 

 and Postsecondary Child Care Grant Programs 

Methods Dependent Student Independent 
Student Documentation 

Graduated from MN high 
school while student resided 
in MN. (Home-schooling 
considered equivalent to 
traditional high school.) Must 
physically attend a MN 
college if currently residing 
in another state. 

Meets resident student 
definition indefinitely 
regardless of state of 
residency after high 
school, provided the 
student is not 
exclusively taking 
distance education 
classes while residing in 
another state. 

Meets resident 
student definition 
indefinitely 
regardless of state of 
residency after high 
school, provided the 
student is not 
exclusively taking 
distance education 
classes while residing 
in another state. 

Supplemental questionnaire 
beyond FAFSA (includes State Grant 
Student Eligibility Questionnaire) or 
admissions/financial aid form 
asking location of high school and 
student’s residence during high 
school. Registration records would 
indicate mode of delivery for 
current classes. Undocumented 
students who do not meet MN 
Dream Act must be legally or 
lawfully residing (VISA, DACA, TPS, 
Asylum Pending, etc.) in Minnesota 
at the time of high school 
graduation. 

Earned GED in MN after 
residing in MN for 12 
consecutive months. (Time 
incarcerated cannot be used 
to establish residency.)  Does 
not include a GED issued in 
MN for an authorized 
alternative test taken in 
another state. 

Meets resident student 
definition indefinitely 
regardless of state of 
residence after GED 
earned. 

Meets resident 
student definition 
indefinitely 
regardless of state of 
residence after GED 
earned. 

Supplemental questionnaire 
beyond FAFSA (includes State Grant 
Student Eligibility Questionnaire) or 
admissions/financial aid form 
asking when/where GED earned 
and date student moved to MN. 
Undocumented students who do 
not meet MN Dream Act must have 
been granted legal status or lawful 
presence prior to earning the GED 
in MN. 

Parents legally or lawfully 
resided in MN when 
application completed.  

Meets resident student 
definition. In case of 
divorce, ‘parent’ is 
parent whose financial 
information is provided 
on FAFSA or alternative 
state aid application. 
Parents’ absence from 
MN excused for 
military service, 
postsecondary 
education and 
missionary work if 
parents continue to file 
MN state taxes. 

Not applicable. Parent’s state of legal residence on 
current FAFSA is sufficient if no 
conflicting information in student’s 
file. Undocumented parents must 
have been granted legal status or 
lawful presence (VISA, DACA, TPS, 
Asylum Pending, etc.) in Minnesota 
at the time the FAFSA or alternative 
state aid application is completed. 

Student resided in MN for 12 
consecutive months without 

Meets resident student 
definition. Subsequent 

Meets resident 
student definition. 

Supplemental questionnaire 
beyond FAFSA (includes State Grant 
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Methods Dependent Student 
Independent 

Student Documentation 

being enrolled for more than 
five credits (includes 
withdrawn credits) per term. 
(Time incarcerated cannot be 
used to establish residency. 
Absence from MN during 
initial 12-month period 
excused for military service if 
student files MN state taxes.) 

absences from MN 
excused for up to one 
year for any reason and 
more than one year if 
reason for absence is 
postsecondary 
education, military 
service or missionary 
service and student 
continues to file state 
taxes in MN.  

Subsequent absences 
from MN excused for 
up to one year for 
any reason and more 
than one year if 
reason for absence is 
postsecondary 
education, military 
service or missionary 
service and student 
continues to file 
taxes in MN. 

Eligibility Questionnaire) or 
admissions/financial aid form 
asking student to list dates for all 
places student has resided and 
name/location of all colleges 
attended beyond high school. 
Undocumented students who do 
not meet MN Dream Act must have 
been granted legal status or lawful 
presence (VISA, DACA, TPS, Asylum 
Pending, etc.) during the 12-month 
period. 

Student met resident 
student definition as a 
dependent applicant and has 
not since left the state of 
MN. 

Not applicable. Meets resident 
student definition. 
This language 
grandfathers through 
independent 
students previously 
granted resident 
student status as a 
dependent student. 

Documentation shows student met 
the definition of MN resident 
student as a dependent applicant 
and still resides in Minnesota. 

Student is a member (or 
spouse/dependent of a 
member) of the armed 
forces of the United States 
stationed in MN on active 
federal military service as 
defined in section 190.05, 
subdivision 5c. 
 
 

Meets resident student 
definition if parent(s) 
reside in MN for active 
federal military service, 
even if parents moved 
to MN after FAFSA was 
submitted. 

Meets resident 
student definition if 
residing in MN for 
own or spouse’s 
active federal 
military service, even 
if student has not 
resided in MN for 12 
months. 

Supplemental questionnaire 
beyond FAFSA (includes State Grant 
Eligibility Questionnaire) or 
admissions/financial aid form 
asking student to list dates for all 
places student has resided and 
reason for residence in state. Form 
should ask student to self-identify 
to financial aid office if reason for 
residing in MN is active federal 
military service. Confirm by 
securing signed statement from 
military commander confirming 
student (or spouse) is stationed in 
MN for active federal military 
service. (OHE confirms for students 
using State Grant Eligibility 
Questionnaire.) 

Student is a dependent or 
spouse of a veteran who 
meets the resident student 
definition used for state 
financial aid programs. 

 

Meets resident student 
definition if student is a 
dependent of a veteran 
who meets the resident 
student definition. 

Meets resident 
student definition if 
student is a 
dependent or spouse 
of a veteran who 
meets the resident 
student definition. 

State Grant Eligibility Questionnaire 
(includes online version) directs 
student to self-identify to financial 
aid office if student is a dependent 
or spouse of a veteran who meets 
the residency definition. Confirm 
veteran status by obtaining DD214 
form. Confirm veteran is a resident 
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Methods Dependent Student 
Independent 

Student Documentation 

 student by completing paper State 
Grant Eligibility Questionnaire. 
Confirm veteran status by obtaining 
DD214 or other supporting 
documentation from veteran. For 
definition of veteran, review 
Minnesota Statute 197.447. (OHE 
will confirm for students using OHE 
State Grant Eligibility 
Questionnaire.) 

Student (or spouse of) who 
relocated to MN from an 
area that is declared a 
presidential disaster area 
within 12 months of the 
disaster declaration, if the 
disaster interrupted the 
person's postsecondary 
education.  

Applies to dependent 
student, even if student 
has not resided in MN 
for 12 months. 

Applies to 
independent student, 
even if student has 
not resided in MN for 
12 months. 

Supplemental questionnaire 
beyond FAFSA (includes OHE State 
Grant Eligibility Questionnaire) or 
admissions/financial aid form 
asking student to list dates for all 
places student has resided and 
reason for residence in state. Form 
should ask student to self-identify 
to financial aid office if reason for 
residing in MN is disaster 
relocation. Confirm disaster 
declaration on FEMA website10 and 
disruption of postsecondary 
education at college located in 
disaster area via documentation 
from college or list of affected 
colleges on FEMA, NASFAA or other 
government web site. (OHE 
confirms for students using State 
Grant Eligibility Questionnaire.) 
Undocumented students who do 
not meet MN Dream Act must have 
been granted legal status or lawful 
presence (VISA, DACA, TPS, Asylum 
Pending etc.). 

Student defined as a refugee 
under United States Code, 
title 8, section 1101(a)(42) 
who, upon arrival in the 
United States, moved to MN 

Applies to dependent 
student, even if 
student has not resided 
in MN for 12 months. 
Subsequent absences 
from MN excused for 

Applies to 
independent student, 
even if student has 
not resided in MN for 
12 months. 
Subsequent absences 

Supplemental questionnaire 
beyond FAFSA (includes OHE State 
Grant Eligibility Questionnaire) or 
admissions/financial aid form 
asking student to list dates for all 
places student has resided and 

 

10 https://www.fema.gov/disaster/declarations 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/197.447
https://www.fema.gov/disaster/declarations
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Methods Dependent Student 
Independent 

Student Documentation 

and has continued to reside 
in MN. 

 

up to one year for any 
reason and more than 
one year if reason for 
absence is 
postsecondary 
education, military 
service or missionary 
service and student 
continues to file state 
taxes in MN. 

from MN excused for 
up to one year for 
any reason and more 
than one year if 
reason for absence is 
postsecondary 
education, military 
service or missionary 
service and student 
continues to file state 
taxes in MN. 

reason for residence in state. Form 
should ask student to self-identify 
to financial aid office if reason for 
residing in MN is refugee 
relocation. Confirm refugee status 
and date of entry to U.S. by 
student’s immigration 
documentation.  

An active member, or a 
spouse or dependent of that 
member, of the state's 
National Guard who resides 
in Minnesota or an active 
member, or a spouse or 
dependent of that member, 
of the reserve component of 
the United States armed 
forces whose duty  
station is located in 
Minnesota and who resides 
in Minnesota. 

Applies to both 
dependent and 
independent students. 

Applies to both 
dependent and 
independent 
students. 

Student should produce 
documentation from the MN 
National Guard or reserve 
member’s commanding officer. An 
example of acceptable 
documentation for a MN National 
Guard member is provided in 
Appendix 26. Reserve member’s 
documentation should also indicate 
reserve member is stationed in 
Minnesota. 

Note: Where “resided in” appears, interpret as legally residing or lawfully present; please consult with OHE staff if needed. 

Residency Exceptions and Clarifications 

• Although a student may meet a resident student definition, the student is not eligible to receive funds 
from State Grant, Work Study or Postsecondary Child Care Grant programs if the student is receiving 
tuition reciprocity benefits from another state while attending a Minnesota postsecondary institution. 
(See ‘General Eligibility Requirements Chart’ or individual program chapters for further guidance.)   

o In cases where the school has determined that the student meets the definition of a Minnesota 
resident student and has an approved reciprocity application, if in the best interest of the 
student, the school (or student) may choose to cancel tuition reciprocity benefits to receive 
state financial aid. Cancelling the tuition reciprocity application means the student is coded as a 
Minnesota resident student, not a non-resident or resident of another state.  To pay out state 
financial aid, this must be done even if the school does not charge a different rate to residents 
versus non-residents.   

• Incarcerated students must demonstrate the criteria necessary for residency prior to being incarcerated. 
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• A family that physically resides in Minnesota near a bordering state but receives mail at a border state 
address (e.g., Wisconsin) will be considered to be residing in Minnesota. 

• A student who completes high school via home-schooling in Minnesota is considered the equivalent of a 
student who graduates from a Minnesota high school while residing in Minnesota. 

• If a student could not graduate from a Minnesota high school because the family resided in another 
state for purposes of military service, missionary work or postsecondary education, the student will be 
considered a resident if the parents retain Minnesota as the state of legal residence by filing state taxes 
in Minnesota.   

• If the only means by which a student can establish Minnesota resident student status is by graduating 
from a Minnesota high school while residing in Minnesota, the student must be physically attending a 
Minnesota college campus if currently residing in another state.  

o In these cases, at least one or more of the student’s classes for the aid year must require 
physical class attendance at a Minnesota campus in order to be considered a Minnesota 
resident student for the aid year. Such attendance must be beyond the required examinations 
or residential components of the program. The college has the option of checking the nature of 
the student’s classes once at the beginning of each aid year or every term.  

• A dependent applicant will be considered a resident student if the applicant’s parent(s) originally 
resided in Minnesota but resided in another state at the time of application due to missionary work, 
military service or postsecondary education but retained Minnesota as the state of legal residence by 
filing state taxes in Minnesota. 

• An applicant who does not initially reside in Minnesota for 12 consecutive months prior to attending a 
postsecondary school on a half-time basis or more may later establish resident student status by 
remaining in the state of Minnesota for 12 consecutive months without attending any postsecondary 
institution for more than five credits in any term (this includes attempted credits with W or FW grades).  

• An applicant who establishes resident student status by residing in Minnesota for 12 consecutive 
months will lose resident student status by moving from Minnesota for more than one year for purposes 
other than education, military or missionary service. 

• An applicant will not be penalized for failure to reside in Minnesota for 12 consecutive months without 
being enrolled for six or more credits in any term (this includes attempted credits with W or FW grades) 
if the student left Minnesota during the 12-month period to serve in the military, provided the student 
enlisted in Minnesota and continues to file Minnesota state taxes.  

• In the case of legal separation or divorce, “parent” means the parent whose financial information was 
provided on the FAFSA or alternative state aid application, following the federal Title IV financial aid 
program guidelines. 
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Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) 

A student must make satisfactory academic progress as defined under the Code of Federal Regulations Title 34, 
sections 668.16(e), 668.32(f), and 668.34, except that a student with an intellectual disability as defined in Code 
of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.231, enrolled in an approved comprehensive transition and 
postsecondary program under that section is subject to the institution's published satisfactory academic process 
standards for that program as approved by the Office. Refer to the ‘School-Determined Requirements’ in 
Volume 1 of the  Federal Student Aid Handbook for more information.  

State 

As in “the State”, refers to the state government of Minnesota.  

Student Aid Index (SAI) 

The FAFSA Simplification Act (Act) was enacted into law as part of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, 
and amended by the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2022. The Act further amends the Higher Education Act 
of 1965, as amended (HEA), and impacts the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®). 

Included in the Act was a switch from the Expected Family Contribution (EFC) to the Student Aid Index (SAI) to 
determine need. This change eliminated the ability to prorate the federal needs analysis. From the 2025-2026 
Federal Student Aid Handbook, Volume 3, Chapter 3: 

No Alternate SAIs for Periods Other Than Nine Months 

Prior to the 2024-2025 award year, the HEA allowed schools to use alternate expected family 
contributions (EFCs) when packaging aid for periods other than nine months. The FAFSA Simplification 
Act eliminated this provision. Beginning with the 2024-2025 award year, when packaging aid for any 
period that is not nine months, schools must use a student’s calculated 9-month SAI in the formula to 
determine eligibility for need-based aid, as described above (that is, COA – SAI – OFA = need). As a result 
of this change, students who are enrolled for periods shorter than nine months will have less financial 
need than would have been the case in the past when using an alternate (smaller) EFC for such periods. 
See Volume 8, Chapter 3 for more information on how this change may affect Direct Subsidized Loan 
eligibility for students receiving loans for periods of enrollment (loan periods) shorter than nine months. 

SAI Program Impact  

State financial aid programs impacted are Minnesota Indian Scholarship (MISP), Student Teacher Grants (STG), 
and Fostering Independence Grant (FIG). These programs require the SAI when calculating award amounts. All 
three programs are administered in MNAid and are calculated by term. Use the following guidance to report 
the SAI in MNAid:  

• Zero SAI: A zero SAI will be entered as zero when requested.  

https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-center/fsa-handbook
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• Negative SAI: A negative SAI will be entered as zero when requested. A negative SAI will not increase 
the amount of need-based aid a student can receive for the impacted programs in this guidance. A 
negative SAI also does not increase the amount of non-need-based aid a student can receive. A negative 
SAI will not increase the student’s cost of attendance.  

• Positive SAI: A positive SAI will be entered based the on the enrollment period length. A student 
enrolled and packaged for a 9-month period, will have more than one term of enrollment. To calculate 
state programs that require individual term awards that use the SAI in the calculation, the SAI will be 
divided by the number of terms in the 9-month enrollment period.  

This is not a proration of the SAI, but evenly dividing the SAI by terms included in the enrollment period 
for administration of Minnesota State Financial Aid programs.  

For students with an enrollment period of only one term, the campus aid administrator must enter the 
full SAI in MNAID; this is due to the elimination of the proration of federal needs analysis. This includes 
students enrolled in a summer term.  

Examples: Assume a student with a SAI of 3000:  

#1: The student is packaged for the Fall and Spring semester. Enter a SAI of 1500 for Fall and a SAI of 
1500 for Spring.  

#2: The student is packaged for Spring only. Enter a SAI of 3000 for Spring.  
#3: A student is packaged for Summer only. Enter a SAI of 3000 for Summer 2.  

Withdrawals or No Shows for Subsequent Terms  

When the awarded student withdraws between the fall and spring terms, the entered COA and SAI in MNAid 
does not need to be adjusted. Refer to each state aid program manual for further guidance on how to indicate 
that the awarded student is no longer enrolled in the subsequent term.  

What about the SAI and other State Financial Aid Programs not listed above?  

• Minnesota Postsecondary Child Care Grant  
The Child Care Grant (CCG) program uses a look up table for the SAI and based on the SAI range, the award 
amount is determined. The CCG does not use a prorated SAI. The award amount is calculated on a per term 
basis. The SAI is used to calculate the maximum term award amount using an SAI start and SAI end range for 
enrollment levels. With the Child Care Grant calculator now built into MNAid, the needs analysis look-up will 
happen within the tables built into the calculator.  

• Minnesota State Grant, including State Grant applied for via the Minnesota Dream Act Application 
The MN State Grant formula, which is used in awarding both State Grant applied for via the FAFSA and the 
Minnesota Dream Act Application, uses an independent student’s SAI and a dependent’s parent 
contribution (PC) as part of the calculation. It is important to note that the State Grant formula does 
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consider negative values for SAI and PC, resulting in larger State Grant awards for students with negative 
values, as opposed to a zero SAI.  Refer to the State Grant chapter for more detailed information. 

Undergraduate Student 

A student who has not earned or completed the requirements for a bachelor’s or professional degree. This 
definition aligns with the federal definition of an undergraduate student for the purpose of federal aid 
programs, such as the Pell Grant. 

A student who enrolls in another undergraduate program after earning an associate degree, or any certificate or 
diploma below the baccalaureate level, will continue to be considered an undergraduate student until the 
student has completed the curriculum requirements for a first bachelor’s degree. 

A student with a baccalaureate or professional degree is ineligible even if the degree is from an unaccredited 
school or foreign country. A comparable four-year postsecondary degree earned in another country, but not 
officially called a “baccalaureate” degree, will be considered a baccalaureate degree. A foreign bachelor’s degree 
consisting of six or fewer semesters without general education requirements is not considered a bachelor’s 
degree. Refer to the ‘Student Eligibility for Pell Grants’ chapter in the Federal Student Aid Handbook for 
additional information. 

Occasionally a student will complete all the requirements for a bachelor’s degree but will continue taking 
undergraduate courses without accepting the degree. If the school determines that the student did complete a 
bachelor’s program (regardless of whether the student accepted the degree), then in compliance with the 
eligibility requirements for the Federal Pell Grant the student will no longer be eligible to receive state financial 
aid available to only undergraduate students as defined in this section. 

Veteran 

The definition of veteran11, as referred to in the definition of Minnesota resident student used for state financial 
aid programs, means a citizen of the United States or a resident alien who has been separated under honorable 
conditions from any branch of the armed forces of the United States after having served on active duty for 181 
consecutive days or by reason of disability incurred while serving on active duty, or who has met the minimum 
active duty requirement as defined by Code of Federal Regulations, title 38, section 3.12a, or who has active 
military service certified under section 401, Public Law 95-202. The active military service must be certified by 
the United States secretary of defense as active military service and a discharge under honorable conditions 
must be issued by the secretary.  

 

11 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/197.447 

https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-center/fsa-handbook/2025-2026/vol7/ch1-student-eligibility-pell-grants
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/197.447
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Withdrawal Date 

For schools participating in federal financial aid programs, the withdrawal date is the date a student ceases 
attendance (drops or withdraws) from all Title IV eligible courses in a payment period or period of enrollment. 
Schools not participating in federal aid programs are subject to any definition of withdrawal date that exists in 
state law or, if none exists, institutional policy. 
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Appendices 

Appendix A: Minnesota Statutes: Common Definitions for Financial Aid Programs 

Ch. 136A MN Statutes12 

136A.101 DEFINITIONS.  

Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 136A.095 to 136A.1311, the terms defined in this section have the 
meanings ascribed to them.  

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 2014 c 149 s 75]  

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2014 c 149 s 75]  

Subd. 4. Eligible institution. “Eligible institution” means an institution that meets the eligibility requirements 
under Section 136A.103.  

Subd. 5. Financial need. “Financial need” means the demonstrated need of the applicant for financial assistance 
to meet the recognized costs of attending the eligible institution of choice as determined from financial 
information on the applicant and, if required, on the applicant's parents, by the federal need analysis.  

Subd. 5a. Assigned family responsibility. “Assigned family responsibility” means the amount of a family's 
contribution to a student's cost of attendance, as determined by a federal need analysis. For dependent 
students, the assigned family responsibility is 95 percent of the parental contribution. If the parental 
contribution is between $0 and negative $1,500, the assigned family responsibility is 50 percent of the parental 
contribution. If the parental contribution is less than negative $1,500, the recognized parental contribution is 
negative $1,500.  For independent students with dependents other than a spouse, the assigned family 
responsibility is 71 percent of the student contribution. For independent students without dependents other 
than a spouse, the assigned family responsibility is 35 percent of the student contribution. If the student 
contribution is between $0 and negative $1,500, the assigned family responsibility is 50 percent of the student 
contribution. If the student contribution is less than negative $1,500, the recognized student contribution is 
negative $1,500. For a student registering for less than full time, the office shall prorate the assigned family 
responsibility using the ratio of the number of credits the student is enrolled in, to the number of credits for full-
time enrollment. Subd. 6.[Repealed, 1989 c 293 s 85]  

Subd. 7. Student. “Student” means a person who is enrolled for at least three credits per term in a program or 
course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or certificate. Credit equivalencies assigned by an institution 
that are applicable to federal Pell grant calculations shall be counted as part of a student's credit load.  

 

12 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A
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Subd. 7a. Full time. “Full time” means enrollment in a minimum of 15 credits per term. 

Subd. 7b. Half time. “Half time” means enrollment in a minimum of six credits per term.  

Subd. 8. Resident student. “Resident student” means a student who meets one of the following conditions:  

(1) a student who has resided in Minnesota for purposes other than postsecondary education for at least 12 
months without being enrolled at a postsecondary educational institution for more than five credits in any term;  

(2) a dependent student whose parent or legal guardian resides in Minnesota at the time the student applies;  

(3) a student who graduated from a Minnesota high school, if the student was a resident of Minnesota during 
the student's period of attendance at the Minnesota high school and the student is physically attending a 
Minnesota postsecondary educational institution;  

(4) a student who, after residing in the state for a minimum of one year, earned a high school equivalency 
certificate in Minnesota;  

(5) a member, spouse, or dependent of a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in 
Minnesota on active federal military service as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5c;  

(6) a spouse or dependent of a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, if the veteran is a Minnesota resident;  

(7) a person or spouse of a person who relocated to Minnesota from an area that is declared a presidential 
disaster area within the preceding 12 months if the disaster interrupted the person's postsecondary education;  

(8) a person defined as a refugee under United States Code, title 8, section 1101(a)(42), who, upon arrival in the 
United States, moved to Minnesota and has continued to reside in Minnesota; or  

(9) a student eligible for resident tuition under Section 135A.043; or.  

(10) an active member, or a spouse or dependent of that member, of the state’s National Guard who resides in 
Minnesota or an active member, or a spouse or dependent of that member, of the reserve component of the 
United States armed forces whose duty station is located in Minnesota and who resides in Minnesota.  

Subd. 9. Independent student. “Independent student” has the meaning given under Title IV of the Higher 
Education Act of 1965, as amended, and applicable regulations. 

Subd. 10. Satisfactory academic progress. “Satisfactory academic progress” as defined under Code of Federal 
Regulations, title 34, sections 668.16(e), 668.32(f), and 668.34, except that a student with an intellectual 
disability as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.231, enrolled in an approved 
comprehensive transition and postsecondary program under that section is subject to the institution's published 
satisfactory academic process standards for that program as approved by the Office of Higher Education. 

Subd. 11. Award year. “Award year” has the meaning given in the Higher Education Act of 1965, title 4, section 
481.20, as amended.  
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History: 1971 c 862 s 2; 1975 c 271 s 6; 1975 c 390 s 4; 1Sp1985 c 11 s 29; 1987 c 401 s 15; 1989 c 293 s 24-
26; 1991 c 356 art 8 s 1-5; 1992 c 513 art 1 s 12; 1Sp1993 c 2 art 2 s 7,8; 1995 c 186 s 119; 1995 c 212 art 3 s 17-
21,59; 1996 c 398 s 30; 1997 c 183 art 2 s 3; 1998 c 384 s 7; 1Sp2001 c 1 art 2 s 8,9; 2003 c 133 art 2 s 8; 2005 c 
107 art 2 s 60; 2006 c 282 art 8 s 3; 2007 c 144 art 2 s 17,18; 2008 c 298 s 3; 2008 c 363 art 4 s 6; 2009 c 95 art 2 
s 10; 2010 c 364 s 5,6; 2013 c 99 art 2 s 5,6; art 3 s 1; art 4 s 3; 2014 c 149 s 10-13; 2015 c 69 art 3 s 8; 2016 c 189 
art 1 s 8,9; 2017 c 89 art 2 s 6; 2019 c 64 art 2 s 4; 1Sp2021 c 2 art 2 s 2 

136A.103 INSTITUTION ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.  

(a) A postsecondary institution is eligible for state student aid and to receive state student aid on behalf of 
students under this chapter and sections 197.791 and 299A.45, if the institution is located in this state and: 

(1) is operated by this state or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota; or 
(2) is operated privately and, meets the requirements of paragraph (b). 

(b) A private institution must: 

(1) be licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the office; and 
(2) meet one of the following criteria: 

(i) the institution participates in the federal Pell Grant program under Title IV of the Higher Education 
Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended; 

(ii) the institution: 

(A) was participating in state student aid programs as of June 30, 2010, but does not participate in 
the federal Pell Grant program   under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, Public Law 
89-329, as amended; 

(B)  requires every student who enrolls to sign a disclosure form, provided by the office, stating that 
the institution is not participating in the federal Pell Grant program; and 

(C)  has not had a change in ownership as defined in section 136A.63, subdivision 2; or 

(iii)  the institution offers only graduate-level degrees or graduate-level nondegree programs and 
participates in federal financial aid under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, 
as amended. 

(c) An  institution under paragraph (b), clause (2), that changes ownership as defined in section 136A.63, 
subdivision 2,  remains eligible for state student aid for six months following the change in ownership. 

Subd. 2. Ineligibility. 

A postsecondary institution otherwise eligible for state student aid under this chapter and sections 197.791 and 
299A.45 may be determined by the office to be ineligible if the institution: 
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(1) fails to maintain adequate compliance with administrative and financial standards and compliance with all 
state statutes, rules, and administrative policies related to state financial aid programs; or 
(2) has been terminated from participating in federal financial aid programs by the United States Department of 
Education for a violation of laws, regulations, or participation agreements governing federal financial aid 
programs. 

History: 2010 c 364 s 7; 2017 c 89 art 3 s 2; 2020 c 109 art 3 s 1 

136A.1312 FINANCIAL AID ADMINISTRATOR, PROFESSIONAL JUDGMENT.  

Nothing in this chapter or in the office's rules shall be interpreted as limiting the ability of student financial aid 
administrators, on the basis of adequate documentation, to adjust a student's dependency status or elements of 
a student's cost of attendance for federal needs analysis calculation to allow for treatment of individual students 
with special circumstances, with the exception of the cost of attendance defined under section 136A.121, 
subdivision 6. In addition, nothing in this chapter or in the office's rules shall be interpreted as limiting the ability 
of the student financial aid administrator to use supplementary information about the financial status of eligible 
applicants with special circumstances in selecting recipients of state financial aid and determining the amount of 
awards. Nothing in this section precludes a financial aid administrator from establishing an appeals process for 
other extenuating circumstances. 

History: 1996 c 398 s 31; 2023 c 41 art 2 s 18 

136A.1313 FINANCIAL AID AUDITS.  

Beginning with audits for fiscal year 1996, in place of the audits provided by the office, public institutions that 
administer state grants under decentralized delivery may arrange for audits of state financial aid awards and 
tuition reciprocity recipients in conjunction with their audits for federal financial aid. Audits must be conducted 
in compliance with guidelines and materials prepared by the office. The office shall develop a review process 
including procedures for responding to audit exceptions. All other institutions under decentralized delivery may 
arrange for audits under this section beginning with audits for fiscal year 1997.  

History: 1996 c 398 s 32 
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Appendix B: Minnesota Administrative Rules: Common Definitions for Financial Aid 
Programs 

4830.0100 - MN Rules Part13 

4830.0100 DEFINITIONS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION PROGRAMS. 

Subpart 1.  Scope.   For the purposes of chapters 4800, 4810, and this chapter, the terms defined in this part 
have the meanings given them unless specifically provided otherwise. 

Subp. 1a. Academic year.  "Academic year" means a period of time in which a full-time student is expected to 
complete: 

A.  the equivalent of at least two semesters, two trimesters, or three quarters at an institution that measures 
academic progress in credit hours and uses a semester, trimester, or quarter system; 
B.  at least 30 semester hours or 45 quarter hours at an institution that measures academic progress in credit 
hours but does not use a semester, trimester, or quarter system; or 
C. at least 900 clock hours at an institution that measures academic progress in clock hours. 

Subp. 2. Office. "Office" means the Minnesota Office of Higher Education. 

Subp. 2a. Certificate program.   "Certificate program" means a program that is: 

A. offered by an eligible school as defined in part 4830.0300, subpart 1; 
B. at least 12 quarter credits or the equivalent, or 300 clock hours for clock hour schools; and 
C. at least eight weeks long. 

Subp. 3.  Dependent student.  "Dependent student" means a student who is not an independent student. 

Subp. 3a. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

Subp. 4. Educational costs. Educational costs" means tuition, required fees, room and board, books, and 
miscellaneous expenses. 

Subp. 5. Eligible student. "Eligible student" means a student who meets, at a minimum, all of the following 
requirements: 

A. has not earned a baccalaureate degree and has not entered a graduate school program as a full-time 
graduate student; 
B. is a resident of Minnesota; 
C. is not receiving tuition reciprocity benefits while attending a Minnesota postsecondary institution; 
D. is enrolled or is intending to enroll as at least a half-time student in an eligible school; 

 

13 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4830.0100/ 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4830.0100/
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E. is in good standing and making satisfactory academic progress, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 
136A.101, subdivision 10; 
F. [Repealed, L 2013 c 99 art 4 s 4] 
G. is not in default, as defined under the applicable loan program, of any educational loan, or, if the student is in 
default, has made satisfactory arrangements to repay the loan. 

Subp. 6. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the office, or office staff who perform 
duties as assigned by the commissioner. 

Subp. 7. Financial need. "Financial need" means the amount of monetary assistance necessary for a student to 
meet educational costs after parental and student contributions, determined by the financial need analysis, are 
subtracted from the student's educational costs. 

Subp. 8. Financial need analysis. "Financial need analysis" means a system for analyzing a family's financial 
strength to determine the expected parental and student contributions to educational costs. The system is a 
federally approved system, or an equivalent need analysis system adopted each year by the office for the 
appropriate processing year. 

Subp. 8a. Full time. "Full time" means the enrollment level defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, 
subdivision 7a, except that for purposes of work-study grants administered under parts 4830.2000 to 
4830.2600, "full time" means enrollment in a minimum of 12 credits per quarter or semester, or the equivalent. 

Subp. 9. Independent student. "Independent student" has the meaning given it in the Higher Education Act of 
1965, United States Code, title 20, section 1070a-6, and applicable regulations. 

Subp. 10. Minnesota resident. "Minnesota resident" means: 

A. a dependent student whose parent or legal guardian resides in Minnesota on the date of application; 
B. a student who has resided in Minnesota for other than educational purposes for at least 12 consecutive 
months without being enrolled at a postsecondary institution for more than five credits in any term prior to the 
date of application; 
C. a student who graduated from a Minnesota high school, if the student was a resident of Minnesota during the 
student's period of attendance at the Minnesota high school; 
D. a student who, after residing in the state for a minimum of one year, earned a high school equivalency 
certificate in Minnesota; or 
E. an independent student who was initially a Minnesota resident as defined in item A and who has continued to 
reside in Minnesota. 

Subp. 10a. Determination of student residence. The residence of the parent whose financial information is 
reported in the financial need analysis determines the residence of the student. 

Subp. 11. Audit requirements. Audit requirements means that the school must make available to the office and 
its authorized representatives all pertinent books, documents, papers, and records for audit and examination for 
three years after the last day of a fiscal year or until audit exceptions for the period are resolved. 
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Subp. 12. [Repealed, 20 SR 2284] 

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388; 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 147.30 

History: 8 SR 196; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 16 SR 2732; 19 SR 1491; L 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 20 SR 
2284; 21 SR 1821; 23 SR 594; 28 SR 889; L 2005 c 107 art 2 s 60; L 2013 c 99 art 2 s 29; art 4 s 4 

4830.0110 DEFINITIONS FOR SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 and 4830.7000 to 4830.7900, the 
definitions in this part apply to satisfactory academic progress as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 
136A.101, subdivision 10. 

Subp. 2. Academic standing consistent with the institution's graduation requirements. "Academic standing 
consistent with the institution's graduation requirements" means the student's cumulative grade point average 
must meet the cumulative grade point average required by the institution for graduation. The institution's 
graduation requirement may be a fixed cumulative grade point average which is the same for all grade levels or 
a graduated cumulative grade point average which progresses towards the grade point average required for 
graduation. 

Subp. 3. Academic year. "Academic year" means the grade level as defined by the school. 

Subp. 4. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

Subp. 7. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

Subp. 8. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

Subp. 9. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01 

History: 20 SR 2284; 23 SR 594 

4830.0120 SCOPE.  

For the purposes of this chapter and chapter 4850, the procedure in parts 4830.0130 to 4830.0195 applies to 
the termination of an institution’s eligibility to participate in a student financial aid program administered by the 
Minnesota Office of Higher Education.   

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01 Hist: 24 SR 389; L 2005 c 107 art 2 s 60 

4830.0130 DEFINITIONS. 
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Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 4830.0120 to 4830.0195, the terms defined in this part have the 
meanings given them. 

Subp. 2. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the office, or office staff who perform 
duties as assigned by the commissioner. 

Subp. 3. Fiscal year. "Fiscal year" means the period from July 1 to the following June 30. 

Subp. 4. Funds. "Funds" means money disbursed or the commitment to disburse money under any program to 
an institution or to an institution on behalf of students enrolled and attending the institution. 

Subp. 5. Institution.  "Institution" means a post-secondary institution that participates in a student financial aid 
program or student loan program administered by the office. 

Subp. 6. Office.  "Office" means the Minnesota Office of Higher Education. 

Subp. 7. Program. "Program" means a financial aid and loan program administered by the Minnesota Office of 
Higher Education. 

Statutory Authority:  MS s 136A.01 

History: 24 SR 389; L 2005 c 107 art 2 s 60; L 2013 c 99 art 2 s 29 

4830.0140 TERMINATION. 

The office shall terminate an institution's eligibility to participate in a program if the institution: 

A. violates a provision of Minnesota statutes or rules governing the program, and fails to correct the violation 
within 90 days from the date on the written notification of the termination; 
B. refuses to allow inspection of or provide information relating to financial aid records, after written request by 
the office; 
C. is no longer eligible to participate in a program under part 4830.0300, subparts 1 and 2; 4830.7200; or 
4850.0011, subpart 14; or 
D. is not complying with chapter 4850. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01 

History: 24 SR 389 

4830.0150 TERMINATION PROCEDURE. 

Subpart 1. Termination. The office shall provide written notice of its intent to terminate an institution's eligibility 
to participate in a program or programs if there is evidence that the institution has been in noncompliance 
based on the criteria under part 4830.0140. At the time the office provides notice of its intent to terminate, it 
shall also provide an institution an opportunity for a hearing pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14. 
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Subp. 2. Notification. The office shall send the institution written notification of the termination of the 
institution's eligibility to participate in a program. Termination shall be effective 90 days from the date of the 
written notification or after appeal proceedings are complete, whichever is later. An appeal proceeding is 
complete when all appeals or rights to appeal from the commissioner's order have concluded or expired. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01; 136A.16 

History: 24 SR 389; 43 SR 831 

4830.0160 REQUEST FOR HEARING. 

An institution may request a hearing pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, regarding its termination of 
eligibility to participate in a program. The request must be in writing and must be received by the commissioner 
within 30 days of the date on the written notification of termination sent by the office. Within ten days of 
receipt of the request for hearing, the office shall contact the Office of Administrative Hearings to arrange a 
hearing date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01 

History: 24 SR 389; L 2013 c 99 art 2 s 29 

4830.0170 FINAL DECISION, ORDERS. 

The commissioner shall render a decision and order in writing following receipt of the report issued by the 
administrative law judge after the hearing. The final decision of the commissioner shall take into consideration 
the hearing record and the report of the administrative law judge. The order of the commissioner is the final 
decision in the termination of the institution's eligibility to participate in a program administered by the office. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01 

History: 24 SR 389; L 2013 c 99 art 2 s 29 

4830.0180 REIMBURSEMENTS AND REFUNDS. 

A. The office's director of student financial aid services or the commissioner of the office shall require an 
institution to remedy a violation of applicable program statutes and rules. 
B. If an institution is required to reimburse or make other payments to the office, the commissioner shall offset 
these claims against benefits or claims due to the institution. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01 

History: 24 SR 389; L 2013 c 99 art 2 s 29 

4830.0190 STUDENT AWARDS AFTER TERMINATION. 
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Subpart 1. Payment of awards.  If an institution is terminated from participating in a program during a payment 
period, a student at the institution who was eligible for an award before the effective date of the termination 
shall receive a payment for that payment period. 

Subp. 2. Notice. For the purposes of subpart 1, "notice" occurs: 

A. under the Student Educational Loan Fund (SELF) Program when the commissioner or servicer advises the 
student, in writing, that the loan is approved; and 
B. under the state grant and campus-based programs when the commissioner or institution has notified the 
student, in writing, of the award. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01 

History: 24 SR 389; L 2013 c 99 art 2 s 29 

4830.0195 REINSTATEMENT. 

Subpart 1. Application. An institution terminated from participation in a program by the office under part 
4830.0140, may request reinstatement to participate in the program. The institution must wait at least 12 
consecutive months from the effective date of the termination to submit a request for reinstatement. A request 
for reinstatement must be in writing and submitted to the commissioner. If the institution is initially denied 
reinstatement, the institution must wait at least 90 days from the date of denial of reinstatement, as specified in 
subpart 3, to resubmit a request for reinstatement. If an institution's eligibility is reinstated after the start of the 
academic term, eligible students shall receive payment retroactively to the beginning of the term when the 
institution was reinstated. 

Subp. 2. Reinstatement requirements.  An institution's reinstatement request must include: 

A. written documentation of the process used to correct a violation, and how the violation will be prevented in 
the future; 
B. evidence of full repayment to the office of program funds the institution improperly received, withheld, 
disbursed, or caused to be disbursed; and 
C. new participation agreements with the office for all programs the institution wishes to participate in. 

Subp. 3. Response to reinstatement request.  

Within 60 days of receiving the institution's reinstatement request, the office shall: 

A. grant the request; or 
B. deny the request based on evidence of noncompliance with the requirements in subpart 2. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01 

History: 24 SR 389; L 2013 c 99 art 2 s 29 
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